How I Started Chasing the Lights

IMG_6225copyrightHaving moved to Alaska from the lower 48, I never thought I’d imagine hearing myself say that I love Alaskan winters.  When I lived in the lower 48, I was sure I’d freeze to death with then temperatures dropped below 60 degrees.  I hadn’t done any research on Alaska prior to moving here–it was more of a whim.  Other than movies, I was pretty much unaware what an Alaskan winter would be like.  And besides, movies usually exaggerated things anyway, right?

When my first Alaskan winter began and the weather forecaster predicted lows at subzero temperatures, the first thought that went through my mind was that I must have been off my rocker to choose to live here.  Who in their right mind would go out in temperatures of -10 or even colder?  Surely, I won’t survive this without hibernating inside my apartment!

One night, my sister and I were out walking the dogs.  It was going to be the final walk before bed.  She casually commented, “Oh, look, the northern lights are out.”  I hadn’t yet seen them and didn’t know what she was looking at when I turned skyward.  All I saw were yellowish looking clouds when she pointed them out to me and explained that you can see them better where it’s dark.  That’s when I looked at her and said, “Wanna go for a ride?”

At first, she wasn’t very enthused.  She noted how late it was.  I countered with, “I’ll drive.”  Then she said something about it being cold.  Again, I had an answer for that too.  “I have a sleeping bag we can bring to put around us.”  She finally gave in and we hurriedly took the dogs to our apartments, grabbed coats, gloves, and the sleeping bag and jumped in the truck.

That night we drove out to the Eagle River nature center.  It also happened to be one of those nights where the aurora would blossom and put on the most beautiful display of lights I have ever seen.  We leaned back against the truck and looked toward the stars.  It was a clear, cold night.  I can’t remember if it was 6 degrees or -6 degrees; I just remember that it was cold but so worth it.

We happened to be right under the corona.  The corona basically looks like a black hole out of which the lights  seem to swirl.  They were white, turquoise, burgundy, yellow, light green.  I had never seen anything like it in my entire life…..and had never seen anything that could even come close to being so beautiful.  I remember the feeling of excitement and privilege to be witnessing something so amazingly beautiful that it just left you speechless.

I don’t know how long we huddled together, wrapped in that sleeping bag.  I just remember how all we could say was “ooooo” or “look over there!” or “wow, this is amazing!”  I didn’t realize at the time how fortunate I was to witness that particular display.  Typically, the displays we see are greens and yellows and whites. The pinks, burgundies, purples, turquoise…those aren’t as common.

I have been here 15 years now.  I have since picked up the hobby (or in my case obsession) of photography.  It’s not uncommon for me to run out in the middle of the night to try to capture the lights.  I won’t typically do it on a work night because I have to be up so early.  But, in the rare instances where we have a tremendous geomagnetic storm, I’ll arrange to take the next morning off if at all possible.  IMG_6330copyright

Sometimes my trips are a disappointment when clouds and weather don’t cooperate; however, just to see the beauty of winter at night also brings me a sense of pleasure.  On those nights where I manage to get a good shot or two, I’m ecstatic.  Those are the nights I live for.  Those are the nights I love to share with friends and loved ones through my photography.

 

~ by unknown2neone on January 14, 2016.

Leave a comment